Posted by: lostty | July 15, 2008

Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu and Natsume Yuujinchou ~First Impressions~

Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu

Besides the obvious things that you would expect from a series like this, it wasn’t that bad. This is the type of series that I usually really hate, but I was actually entertained. The amount of fan-service wasn’t even all that bad and it isn’t distracting towards the plot or anything. The story isn’t that original, but it does put a spin on certain concepts. I do wonder how that girl managed to keep her secret from everybody for so long though because she didn’t seem that discreet at hiding her fandom. I’m also glad that the main character isn’t someone who swoons over any girl because that would honestly make this extremely annoying. The animation wasn’t all that bad either. I don’t really know why I ended up actually enjoying this, but I would suggest giving this series a try just to see if it’s your thing. It will definitely be interesting to see what else will happen in this series.

Natsume Yuujinchou

This was one of the series that I was more excited for this season and it didn’t disappoint. I didn’t really have a reason in wanting to watch it, I didn’t even know the plot, but when I learned more about the series I really enjoyed it. The animation isn’t anything spectacular, but it’s tolerable and still relatively good. For some reason, I so far really like the characters who are just plain likable. The fat cat thing was really adorable as well! The spirits are a bit weird, but I really liked having the story behind there sealing into the “book of friends”. This series has great potential, this was actually one of my favourites of the season so far. I would definitely recommend that you give this series a try. I hope the next episode ends up as good as this one!


Responses

  1. […] lostty wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

  2. I’ll give that Natsume Yuujinchou a try…it’s about ghosts right?

    As for Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu, I too was impressed by the first episode. Everything I thought about the anime was completely wrong, maybe that’s why I enjoyed it so much! ^_^’

  3. Yup, Natsume Yuujinchou is about ghosts and spirits and such.

    Your theory on why you liked Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu actually makes a lot of sense…

  4. For Natsume Yuujinchou, I think I was sort of disappointed because the grandma is really awesome and yet dead …

  5. Ya, her character seemed really interesting. Though, I’m guessing we’ll probably see more flashbacks of her, which is still pretty good.

  6. Yeah, it’s a bummer that Reiko’s dead. Maybe season 2 can be a prequel. =O

  7. Nice post.. Thanks for including a picture keep them coming.

  8. @dingsan: That’s actually a really smart idea.

    @anime-girl: Thank you! I do what I can!


Leave a comment

Categories