Posted by: lostty | January 11, 2009

Maria†Holic and White Album ~First Impressions~

Maria†Holic

I was actually really surprised by how much I enjoyed it! After reading the premise, I was expecting something stupider but it turned out to be surprisingly funny. The animation was pretty good and the soundtrack was just average. The characters are definitely the best part and after the first episode, you already get a pretty good impression on how they are going to be like for the rest of the series. Also, I’m glad to hear that Shinbou Akiyuki (Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, Hidamari Sketch) is the director behind it all, which basically means that the craziness has truly only begun! I’m still a bit nervous for future episodes and if they will keep my interest, but I do have hope, considering this really seems to be a promising series!

White Album

Our main character Fujii is pretty boring, but we’re all watching this for Aya Hirano and Nana Mizuki anyway! I was originally excited for this series, until I heard from many that it was actually boring, but after seeing it for myself, I actually enjoyed it. The animation is great and naturally, the soundtrack already seems fantastic! The story looks slow and in a way very realistic, but when it comes to a romance, that could really be a positive if they play it out right. The series has a lot of potential and I think I might blog because I want to see what will happen to this series because I really have high hopes.


Responses

  1. I expected Maria Holic to be a bit darker because of the ‘sadistic’ trap part, but funny and humorous is fine too!

    White Album is my type of show, so it’s been on my watchlist since I heard of it! And yeah, I’m in it for the Mizuki Nana and Hirano Aya! ^_^’

    There’s too many people jumping off the wagon with first impressions…they should at least watch 3 episodes before brushing it off…>_>

  2. @53RG10: Yes, also the title gives off a darker vibe, but as you mentioned, the way it turned out to be is great as well!
    I agree that people have to give most series a chance… I do admit that there were some series that I dropped after one episode, but it was from my own judgment rather than others. Anyway, I enjoy reading people’s impression, but naturally I always see how it is in the end for myself.

  3. Even without mention, Maria Holic reeks of Shaft, which is a good thing. It’s already my Winter favorite, alongside White Album, even if the latter is only due to Nana Mizuki.

  4. @Shin: Shaft is a great and I would agree that Nana Mizuki is without a doubt the best thing about White Album!

  5. I thought I found White Album slow, if not boring. I was expecting more of a pace similar to True Tears. They are ‘slice of life’ genre after all.

  6. @7: True Tears and White Album do share a resemblance… I admit that White Album was slow, but for me it still managed to keep my interest, which for others seems to be the opposite.

  7. For every internet user, all the instruments of this world are of great importance. While the number of internet sites, game sites, news sites and much more have turned into really attractive places in this sense, the number of people using the internet for entertainment purposes is not small at all. Because of this, teenagers and children can enter play sites in their free time and be adventurous with the sweetest characters. These characters, which are very famous and so sympathetic, also take part in friv games. In the world there are sites that collect such games under one roof and offer the best quality options to the players, as well as http://friv.party/ address that offers the best games with the variety of services and offers that they provide within these sites. All the game options in this adress are made up of serious and impressive games.
    Players who enter the site with the friv unblocked option, which attracts all the attention, enjoy playing games. Especially when the most sympathetic characters are chosen and the adventure is a great pleasure, the situation also tastes different emotions from every direction. Excitement, happiness and adrenaline are also experienced. In addition, since there are no annoying advertisements on the pages where all these games are found, parents are aware that their children are having fun in a safe place.
    The friv site, which is prominent with both different and enjoyable game types, gives you the opportunity to have a pleasant time. In addition to that, you can also see the scores that you collect while playing with each other. It can also be seen that similar games are featured on the pages where each game is played. In other words, the most beautiful and sweetest game types are presented to the players. Offering free gaming opportunities, Friv.com is striving to please all children and young people. Now you can have fun as you like.


Leave a comment

Categories