Posted by: lostty | July 10, 2008

Aria ~Review~

Where has my life been without Aria! I finally got around to watching the first season and I absolutely loved it! I can see why this series is so popular, it has a winning combination of everything you would want in a series. It is a series where you can really just sit down and enjoy it without any other thoughts at all. Also, just as the manga, this was highly addictive and once I watched the first episode I went to straight to the second. I also find it interesting that a series like this, which at first glance seems so simple, probably had a lot of thought put into every episode. I can’t remember the last time I watched a series that could leave me with such sweet feeling after every single episode. I don’t think it would be even possible to say anything negative about this series.

The story bring us into the world of Aqua, which is the planet formerly known as Mars. There, a young girl and her friends work as undines in training in the city of Neo Venezia, which is a replica of the city of Venice. Are main character Akari, may have a lot of work to do, but she still always manages meet new people and live each day to its fullest. With a great premise, the one thing that completed it was the characters. The characters stand out so much in this series and even from other animes in general. The fact that for the most part all the characters belong to separate companies, it’s really interesting to have them all together. I also love that each of the companies had their own cat representatives. I loved President Aria, he’s just too cute! I don’t think there was a single character I disliked, which is rare for any series. Though, even the side characters were very likable and it was very amusing to have Akari (who is beyond the boundaries of an optimist) bring out the best of everyone. I also liked how the characters were actually important to the series and in the end we got to see them once more.

Just as everyone told me, this series would be worth watching even if it was just for the art and music. The scenery images were all so beautiful, they really made every scene just so much better. Though, I don’t think the series could have even managed without the amazing animation. It’s a series about people trying to guide visitors through a city while showing them the best sites, that feeling couldn’t possibly have been achieved if the animation wasn’t at its best. The music was one of the first things I noticed about this series and one of the first things I fell in love with. Throughout the whole series there was always some kind of music in the background and it always suited the scene so well. The music also went well with the whole Venice feel. I loved the opening as well, which not only used a great song, but it always changed showing off the great animation this series has.

This was definitely an amazing series, so it’s hard to believe I still have two seasons and an OVA left, I don’t think this series can get any better. The only reason why I haven’t started the second season yet was because I wanted to write my review beforehand, but now that I’m done I can’t wait to start and watch it! I can’t wait to see what else this series will bring! I would suggest this series to anyone, it isn’t really a series that secludes a certain group of people, I’m sure anyone would at least enjoy it.

The snowfly was too cute! I had to put an image of it 🙂


Responses

  1. […] lostty wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

  2. I don’t think this series can get any better.

    Oh trust me, it does!! ^_^ Especially around the third season.

  3. Then I can’t wait! 🙂

  4. I agreed with you


Leave a comment

Categories