Posted by: lostty | October 5, 2008

Toradora!, Casshern Sins and Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka ~First Impressions~

Toradora!

The series didn’t really hit me as anything amazing, but I did enjoy the episode while it lasted. It’s a pretty ridiculous concept that the main character is thought of as really mean only because of his looks, my only impression I got of him when I first saw him was that he looked kind of hot in some weird way. Blue hair is definitely in season! Taiga is interesting and I liked that within only the first episode they created some possible plots for her development. The animation wasn’t that great, but not bad either. I’m not going to have my expectations too high for this series because I don’t really think much more than a few jokes and some flashbacks are going to come out of it, but I can’t really determine that all through just a first episode! Anyway, at least I can just watch this series for the entertainment!

Casshern Sins

My only prior knowledge about this series is from a live action film I saw about two years ago with the same name. Though, as much as I liked the movie, I didn’t really understand it all, so I’m hoping to get a little more answers out of this. So far, the first episode really only had Casshern having lots of fights with other robots. The animation style is very authentic and the dark atmosphere really shows through. Though, the characters really all do have one big head of hair! Casshern actually looked pretty good with his hair, but the outfit kind of kills my interest. The story seemed a little fast paced, but it is really hard to tell after only one episode. Anyway, the series has interested me and it’ll be enjoyable to have at least one dark anime to watch this season.

Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka

Why do I even bother with series like these? I always get the same result, but I try and watch them anyway. This is a series based off a H-game and its origins are definitely influenced in the show. Luckily, we didn’t get any full on fanservice yet, but there sure was a hell of a lot of at the waste and below shots. The animation isn’t anything great and everyone’s hair looks just messed up. The story itself, so far seems stupid and pointless. The characters are boring, especially are main character, but the rest are stereotypes as well. It’s evident that this series will never actually reach to be anything different, it will just stay within the pile of stupid fanservice shows… Evidently, I really think there isn’t anything worth watching in this episode or series for that matter. Though, I’ll give it one more episode, but I don’t really think it has much of a chance anyway.


Responses

  1. […] Go to the author’s original blog: Toradora!, Casshern Sins and Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka ~First … […]

  2. Ooo…Toradora is like so-so for me too (but I enjoyed the episode)! Then again, I’m interested to find out why so many people are so in to the series. Guess we won’t find out until later episodes, huh?

  3. @7: Ya, I know what you mean. This was already being talked about long before it was aired! Only because the adaption from both the light novels and mangas are very popular, though it will be interesting to see if the hype about it is really true.

  4. Man, there’s so much anime that I need to watch, I don’t know what to do!! I’ve got practically no time on my hands… heck, I haven’t even finished watching Lucky Star! O_o

  5. @Radiant: Making time for my anime watching has been quite a task recently as well, but I’m managing. I really take advantage of the weekends, I’m lucky if I’m able to see more than 1 episode a day during the week! I hope you get a chance to have more time to watch some anime soon!

  6. Oh, “Akane iro ni somaru saka” doesn’t have anything worth watching?
    I haven’t watched the 1st episode yet, but there seems no need of watching.
    I played the PC game, which was very interesting for me.The voice actors of the game are different from those of the anime.So the anime characters look to me like other characters.
    I think they should have made better anime.

  7. @rothmansordunhill: Chances are that if you enjoyed the game you might like the series more than I did because I really just dislike the genre in the first place. Though, either way it was pretty bad….


Leave a comment

Categories