Posted by: lostty | April 16, 2008

Even more first impressions: Wagaya no Oinari-sama, Kyouran Kazoku Nikki and Amatsuki

Wagaya no Oinari-sama

Originally, I wanted to see this, but after watching some of the other series that this season has to offer I sort of forgot about this one. I’m glad I ended up watching it in the end because the first episode wasn’t that bad. It was kind of boring at the beginning, but it got a lot better near the end and the action scene was really entertaining. I’m not really sure what’s with the recent obsession in having fox spirits in anime though, because once again we have another series about a fox girl. Though, it obviously has a different premise for the story and it seems pretty interesting, it’s also filled with potential. Considering there are about 24 episodes, if I’m not mistaken, I’m curious to find out what they plan on doing with the series. The animation isn’t anything special, but it isn’t bad either. I really have a feeling that I might actually enjoy this.

Kyouran Kazoku Nikki

Something must be wrong with me…I actually liked it! It was way over the top, extremely stupid, bad animation and I still liked it! What can I say; it’s good stupid only because it knows it’s stupid. For the most part I didn’t even understand half of what was going on, but it all just seemed funny in some absurd way. The thing that initially threw me off was definitely jellyfish daughter because that was a way of confirming for what I should expect from this. The characters are all to crazy, which makes them great and entertaining. It was so random and things were just coming out of nowhere, it was as if the writers were just doing improvisation for the story and worst of all, it worked. I can’t wait to find out what they make of this series because I know I’ll be right on board watching.

Amatsuki

Well, I guess I’d consider this just failed potential. The story isn’t that bad, but I felt that it seemed choppy at times and unnecessary. Not to mention, but it was also really just plain boring. The characters are kind of annoying, but I am sure I will get used to them eventually. The one positive thing I have to say is that I really like the music, which was almost always really good. The opening or ending isn’t anything great, but I kind of like it at the same time. The animation isn’t bad, but whenever I see the eyes I can’t help but think that they remind me of monkeys. Honestly, it wasn’t very good, but I do think it does have a chance at getting better and I think I’ll probably keep this up.


Responses

  1. Catgirls are not fashionable anymore, so they go with kitsune 😛 I checked out Wagaya no Oinari-sama and somewhat disappointed. I wanted it to have more ancient settings, but it turned out to be live with a fox spirit in modern Japan and slay monster a day show….

  2. I agree that Wagaya would have been better if it stayed in the setting of a more ancient Japan. It would have been a lot more entertaining, especially considering that the second episode sucked.


Leave a comment

Categories