Posted by: lostty | October 18, 2008

Name That Anime – Screencap Challenge!

I was inspired by my good friend from House of Mirth and Movies, to create my own little screencap challenge. So, I gathered some of my DVDs in my shelf and took some screenshots that are easy in some cases and a bit difficult for others. I would just like to mention, when you give your guesses, make sure to put the number of the image in which you are talking about. There isn’t really any prize to be the one who guessed the most correct answers, except for the satisfaction of being the better than everyone else; so guess away! Depending on how many views and comments I get for this post, I might make this a more regular thing, instead of something I spontaneously decided to do. As a hint to start everyone off, the images are from both anime films and series. Good luck!

1. Answer: Gunslinger Girl (drjoestan)

2. Answer: Code Geass (drjoestan)

3. Answer: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (saimaisama)

4. Answer: Princess Tutu (Hinano)

5. Answer: Grave of the Fireflies (Kitsune)

6. Answer: Blue Gender (escaru)

7. Answer: Princess Mononoke (Kitsune)

8. Answer: Ghost Hunt (Lana)

9. Answer: Whisper of the Heart (Kitsune)

10. Answer: Nadia – The secret of Blue Water (Kitsune)


Responses

  1. I feel stupid now.

    3: Higurashi no naku Koro ni
    5: Something Studio Ghibli?
    6: … Gundam Wing?

    4,7,8 are so familiar but I can’t put a name on it. I give.

    -fails-

  2. Oh, I love these scene recognition challenges😀

    2. Girl Who Leapt Through Time ( Guessing😛 )

    3. It look very familiar, but I can’t recall it! >.<

    5. This is a Ghibli movie. I’ll take a guess: Grave of the Fireflies.

    7. Obviously, this is Mononoke Hime🙂 I really like that film🙂

    9. Whisper of the Heart😀

    10. Nadia🙂

    Others I have not seen or the shots are too ambiguous😛

  3. 3. Higurashi
    4. Princess Tutu
    10. Nadia the secret of blue water

    xD i dont know the rest

  4. 6 is from Blue Gender

  5. So…the more simpler images have all been guessed!
    For the harder ones, just keep in my mind that they were screencaps from my own DVD collection, which means were talking about licensed material here!😀

  6. The only one that looks familiar besides the higurashi one is 8 – ghost hunt if I am not mistaken.

  7. […] Go to the author’s original blog: Name That Anime – Screencap Challenge! […]

  8. 1. Gunslinger Girl (first series)

  9. Darn it, the Grave of the Fireflies one was the only one I knew for sure…

  10. Only one left, keep in mind, I made it the hardest to guess, only because it’s so popular😉

  11. https://lostty.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/vlcsnap-405089.png?w=300&h=168
    This is the only one I know.😀

  12. If it is so popular, then it is Clannad😛

  13. 2. I want to say Code Geass, but not sure.

  14. I knew that hint would basically give it away X) but drjoestan you’re correct! It is none other than Code Geass!

    They have all been guessed now, you can expect another screencap challenge in a few weeks. Until then, thank you to all who participated!😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

