Posted by: lostty | October 10, 2008

ef – a tale of melodies, Yozakura Quartet and Kannagi ~First Impressions~

ef – a tale of melodies

I’m glad this series finally got its second season! Just as the first season, nothing is completely clear yet and we’ll just have to wait and see what happens. Luckily, the art in this series didn’t change at all and it was still simply beautiful. Though, I did find it disappointing that they added some fanservice into the episode, which doesn’t fit with a series like ef at all. Still, I am glad to see the new characters who all seem really weird in their own ways. Though, there was also some appearances of the old cast, but we haven’t got to see all of them yet. It’s good to see that new elements to the series are being introduced while other elements are staying the same. I’m pretty sure this is going to be one of the series I blog… Anyway, I can’t wait to see how this develops!

Yozakura Quartet

Even though I already have tons of series to watch this season, I decided to pick this one up as well because the story seemed very unique and interested. I’m glad I did because the first episode was definitely entertaining. For starts, it has an awesome opening, the ending theme was also really good. On that note, the soundtrack in general was one of the best of the season.  It also has an outstanding cast of characters! I love it when they mix so many characters with completely different personalities together and this series pulled it off very well. The story turned out good, just as I expected and the action scenes were well made. This series started off on a great start, I hope it only continues to get better!

Kannagi

Well, I decided to give this a try as well and it did amuse me, but it still wasn’t anything spectacular. The thing that probably bothered me most, was that the concept of this show feels like it has been revisited one too many times. The animation was pretty and cute, but there was still a lot of random spiders and bugs popping out of nowhere, which loses points for me because that’s just freaky (how lame can I be?). The jokes were okay, some of them were funnier than others, but for the most part as I’ve already mentioned about the story, it seemed like I already heard it before form other series. I don’t think this series is really going to get anywhere, but it’s worth watching nonetheless.


Responses

  1. Though, I did find it disappointing that they added some fanservice into the episode

    Me too! But fret not…I also felt like this during the first episode of Season 1. I’m sure it will get exciting very soon.

  2. @7: Ya, I remember when I started the first season (which I marathoned after it aired) that it took me a while to really get into the feel of the show, so I’m guessing it’ll be the same for the second season.
    It seems were both on the same page when it comes to ef🙂

  3. I have not seen ef, but checked out other anime you mentioned. Kannagi has excellent staff in both art and music departments, but the plot is not my cup of tea. I liked color design, OP, and characters of Yozakura Quartet🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

