Posted by: lostty | October 8, 2008

Kuroshitsuji, Tales of the Abyss and To Aru Majutsu no Index ~First Impressions~

Kuroshitsuji

I would be lying to say I wasn’t excited for this series, but I still think it beat out all my expectations! Sebastien wins the most awesome character award after only one episode for sure, but Yoshino from Clannad does make a close second. I loved the story, even if it was at times predictable, there’s also evidently more to tell about many of the characters and I’m already excited to see it! The animation for the most part is very good, the character designs and backgrounds are both well done. The characters themselves are all wonderful and they really enhance the story more and just draw you in. The music throughout the whole episode was fantastic and the opening and ending were both some of my favourites form the season. I think I might actually blog this series, I can’t wait to see how this progresses.

Tales of the Abyss

Overall, it didn’t really interest me too much, it was entertaining at some point, but not nearly as amusing as I at least expected. I have never played the games, but I don’t really plan to anyway. The thing that probably bothered me most in this series was the main character Luke. I’m sure he is meant to act spoiled and annoying, but it still bothers me. I expect that as the series goes on, his personality changes and I’m also pretty sure that my fondness towards the character will grow, but it doesn’t help much that I also hate his voice! The script writing didn’t seem all that good to me either; it just seemed too unrealistic and almost just plain stupid. I though the animation was nice though! For some odd reason, I have hopes for this series and I really believe it will get better, which is why I’m just going to keep on watching.

To Aru Majutsu no Index

This didn’t turn out that bad, it was at least miles ahead from what I expected. I particularly liked the story, which seems unique enough. The characters are also quite entertaining and it’s safe to say that I like the main character so far, also Index was very amusing and she was just too cute! It was also pretty funny when he had to go to his extra classes and you find out his teacher is just a little girl who actually has a crush on him. As much as it has a lot of “magic action”, the series also has quite a dew jokes and they were all quite funny, which is always a plus. The series has a good chance at only getting better from here and I think it’ll be interesting to see what they do with the plot.


Responses

  1. […] lostty wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThe animation for the most part is very good, the character designs and bbackgrounds/b are both well done. The characters themselves are all wonderful and they really enhance the story more and just draw you in. The music throughout the b…/b […]

  2. Yes, Kurushitsuji was very good! I think it is the best anime of the Fall season so far, but by favorite is still Hyakko🙂 I’ll be blogging both Kuroshitsuji and Hyakko regularly with plenty of screenshots as usual🙂

  3. What!!? Someone better than Yoshino Yuusuke!? O_O* Gotta give this Kuroshitsuji a try…

    I thought Tales of the Abyss was pretty good considering it’s an adaptation from a video game, which don’t turn out too well. But we’ll see how it fares in the long run. Right now I’m riding on Tear fanboy-ism! ^_^’

    Toaru Majutsu no Index translated better than I expected. The short battle was pretty good and well animated. It also retained that serious with a little dash of comedy nature that I liked from the manga. Things will {hopefully} get better from here!

  4. I’m really loving the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A few of my blog audience have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.
    Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue?


Leave a Reply

Categories

