Posted by: lostty | September 21, 2008

Yen+ ~One of the many magazines I found randomly at the store~

First cover

First cover

So, today I went to the bookstore to pick up a book I needed for school, but during my search I ended up finding something as well, which was Yen+. This magazine is very similar to those such as “Shojo Beat” and “Shonen Jump” magazine and when I noticed it, I realized I never even heard of it. I bought it on a whim, which was when I found out that this magazine has only been running for one other month. So, basically I’m just giving my input on old news, but better late than never as they say; though, why is it that I always end up behind on everything I do, it still comes as a mystery for me. Anyway Yen+, a monthly magazine, has a very unique selection and taste, which for firsts, is trying to be guided to both male and females and secondly, they have both mangas and English and Korean oriented graphic novels. As expected, I really only recalled the names from the manga titles, which included: Soul Eater, Nabari no Ou, Sumomomo Momomo, Bamboo Blade and When They Cry (Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni). I was pretty excited to see all these titles, especially since I didn’t even know that half of these were licensed. It makes a pretty good selection of different genres and for the most part, I found that after reading them, they were all very enjoyable!

second cover

second cover

As for the Graphic novels, here’s my impression on each of them:

Nightschool: I particularly liked the story and art for this one. It had an unique set of characters that made me interested to learn more about them.
Maximum Ride: I liked this one a lot more than I expected to. The art was also very good and the characters seem interesting enough. I’m not really loving the main character, but the people around her are entertaining enough that it isn’t too much of a bother. The story seems to be progressing fast and it’ll be interesting to see where the series plans on going.
Pig Bride: It seems that this one has a lot of Korean culture mixed around it. The story was a bit dull, simply because the overall concept has been visited very often, but there is obviously still more to the characters.
Sarasah: The art style seemed a little more unique than the others and for the most part I liked. The story isn’t that great and has an almost stupid flare to it.
One Fine Day: This was my favourite of the bunch! It seemed particularly short, but it had such an uplifting story and adorable characters. I’m excited to read more form it, its simplicity was probably the best part!
Jack Frost: This was my least favourite, only because its main focus is all about the fanservice. I did find it amusing how in the series they were able to make a few jokes about that, but it still wasn’t very enjoyable. The story isn’t that bad , but it doesn’t have a lot rooting for it at the moment…

)

A look inside... This is When They cry if you did not notice🙂

So, in all, it’s a magazine worth the money, I’m quite certain that I plan on buying this monthly. The price is basically the same Shojo Beat (I don’t buy Shonen Jump), at around 10$ canadian and I do think it will be interesting to see where this magazine ends up going. You can also already Subscribe for the year, but I’ve never been a subscribing person, even though it has millions of advantages. My only complaints are that the covers should probably add more information on them, even though I do like the neat look, I would like to be a bit more informed about what I’m going to be reading. I also didn’t like that in the middle of the magazine after you’ve been reading from left to right, they tell you to stop and literally flip the magazine so you can read the rest of the mangas in the original format from right to left, it just seems unorganized. They should also add more features, but for the most part I think this magazine is worth the buy. In general, it has about 450 pages, which is obviously pretty impressive and some of the pages at the beginning are even high quality, so it is a well made magazine to begin with. As final words, if you see this randomly at the bookstore like I did, don’t be hesitant to buy it, chances are something is bound to interest you in it and as I mentioned already, it is well priced.

For more information about their selection or anything else, visit there website: http://yenpress.us/?cat=4


Responses

  1. seems to be a good value for the money although i don’t subscribe any mas of any type really i may occasionally buy one of the stand if it spikes my interest…may have to try that with this one

  2. @blitzero21: As I mentioned, I’m not much of a subscriber either, but I do buy them regularly every month if I like the magazine. I hope you do give the magazine a chance!😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

