Posted by: lostty | September 19, 2008

Strike Witches ~Review~

Sorry for the poor quality images in advance! Simply put, this is a series that I would usually avoid completely. After the first episode, which left me disappointed, I made a stupid speculation that the series had a shot at getting better. The only thing I got as the series progressed was more annoying plot lines and tons more fanservice. Though, when I decided it was time to just drop it, I realized it would be pointless considering the series was almost over anyway and I try not to drop a series as much as I can. So, that is how I got stuck watching Strike Witches…Now on to the actual review!

The series is basically a remake from an OVA of the same name that was released in 2007, that I never got around to watching. The basic principle of what the series is about, is that it is set it an alternate universe where a whole bunch of evil stuff that is never too deeply explained about are trying to conquer their world. Though, with a little bit of technology, weapons have been created to try destroy these weird enemies. These weapons, known as Striker Units, have to be piloted by magical people, which brings us to the creation of a group of girls with magical powers who fly in the sky fighting enemies with big guns all while not wearing any pants. As much as this would seem like every guy’s dream series, for a girl, it becomes more difficult to find an entertainment in it. Though, I will give the series some credit for having pretty good fight scenes (even though they were mostly just for some more panty shots) and the animation budget was pretty high, so  the quality wasn’t that bad either.

I actually found the ending left me on a positive note for the series, which made giving an overall impression for the series hard, but looking back on it, I realized there was a lot of episodes I just wished would end. Such as, one of the fillers, which was all about a continuous chain of everyone stealing each others panties, which was just absurd and stupid to me. I also found it weird how they referred to there panties as actually pants, though I heard from someone that the only reason they wear those are because if they didn’t, they wouldn’t be able to wear the Striker Units properly, which is a fairly stupid reason to me and also unlikely. There were also many times where they would have pointless scenes in an important episode only to add in more fanservice. The series was also left with a lot of unanswered questions like whom are the Neurios and a lot of things involving the government. Though, the series ended in a way that it gives the illusion that a second season is already on the way, so whether those questions will be answered or not, will just have to wait and see.

The characters were all very different and they all took on a certain magical power, which was in the form of a certain animal. Yoshika, who is are true main character was probably my least favourite of the whole cast, I just don’t know how to express how annoying her character turned out to be. Sakamoto makes a close second for my least favourite, while Lucchini turned out to be the most entertaining. Though, in general, I found that the match-up of all the characters worked well and I liked how the relationship fro each character with others was different, instead of just having everyone a big group of happy friends.

The progression of the story for the series was relatively slow, of course there was many fights here and there, but they really served no purpose at all to anything. They did have certain moments where we got to learn more about the other characters, but I would have liked to learn a bit more about everyone. The final battle was indeed very good, but I felt the events leading up to it were almost boring and not needed for the last episode. Though, I was glad that the ending was on an uplifting note and it in general it ended very well, which was something I didn’t expect.

The OVA would be something I might want to check out, but I don’t think there will be much point unless I get really bored. I would only really recommend this series to someone who liked this sort of thing, but in general it wasn’t anything too great that I would try and convince everyone around me to watch it. Overall, this series wasn’t too great for me, but I did like it more than I expected and it’s not like it was the worst thing I ever saw. I understand how for this series I wasn’t the target audience in my mind, but there still was a few moments that I felt were very amusing and if a second season came around I might watch it, but that’s no guarantee. Still, this series was my least favourite to watch during the summer season, but from reading what others had to say it seems for some it was there favourite, so the opinions are obviously very mixed.


Responses

  1. 1. Since you didn’t allow comments on the banners page just wanna say…love your banner! Did you have a banner page back then or is this something new you added?

    2: “As much as this would seem like every guy’s”

    LOL! Is this because of the pantsu?

    3. Thanks for saving me the trouble. I was contemplating to watch this series but I was having bad vibes. Turns out I was right, thanks to your review.🙂

    But seriously…magic and technology plus pantsu? That’s a weird combo there, don’t you think?

  2. My expectation of this anime was low to begin with, so I wasn’t really disappointed in the overall series. Looking at it from a “it’s just a guilty pleasure” point of view made me enjoy it for what it was. Besides, I’m a guy and I like me some pansu!! ^_^’

    It did get quite good towards the end, but not enough for me to recommend it to other people. It left too many questions unanswered…

  3. my expectations were nothing so I haven’t even started watching it and I don’t think I’m going to watch it anytime soon

  4. @7: Thank you very much!😀 I don’t really know why I enabled the comments, it just seemed to be the right thing at the time, I’ll probably change that soon I guess. And yes, it is a new feature that I added recently, it seemed appropriate since I tend to change them a lot. The pantsu is basically the same reason I said that. I’m glad I was able to help you on your decision on whether or not to watch, even if it was for the worse. The combination is very weird, but I guess that’s just what makes it different…

    @53RG10: The unanswered questions are a bit annoying, so a second season is obviously needed. It’s just a question on whether it will actually come out or not.

    @blitzero21: If at first glance it doesn’t interest you, actually watching it probably won’t change your views.

  5. The current banner with scissors is kind of scary😛

    I applaud you for your stamina that you actually watched the series and wrote a review🙂

  6. @Kitsune: I didn’t think of my banner as something scary until now X) It still has a happiness to it as well I hope…
    Thanks for appreciating my efforts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

