Posted by: lostty | June 3, 2008

Kurenai episode 8

I am like major behind on this series and I’m really sorry, I’ll try and catch up, I really will! Anyway, I didn’t expect it, but once again this episode was a relatively calm one. I predicted that it was most likely going to start getting serious, which for the most part wasn’t the case. Though, it was of course still another amazing episode that is one of my favourites from the series so far. I’m not completely sure yet, but this series definitely has a shot at being the best of the season, it’s a shame that the actual good series of the season get a very limited amount of episodes, while the series that are boring or just plain bad get to be long. Life is never really fair I guess (a bit of an exaggeration I suppose). Maybe it’s for the better, it’s hard to tell. Anyway, so the episode was about Murasaki going to celebrate a festival dedicated only to 3, 5 and 7 year olds on November 15 (pretty clever date, if I’m not mistaken the festival was called Shinshe-go-san or something near that). Kurenai got the thumbs up from his boss to take Murasaki outside, so the neighbours put makeup on her and dress her up in a really cute kimono. I was already considering this an amazing episode at the point when I found out it was possible to Murasaki even cuter. When they get to the Temple for the festival, they realize how remote it was considering nobody else was there. They tried to do all the Temple rituals and when they opened there fortunes Murasaki, who can’t read, asked Kurenai to tell her what it said. It ended up that she got a bad fortune, but to make her happy he told her that it means things may seem a bit bad now, but it’ll get better soon; it was so cute. The relationship between the two is really starting to seam more and more like big brother and little sister.

Though, my personal favourite part was when Kurenai wanted to get Mursaki a charm and she demanded to get the pink one even if the charm was for “Safe Driving”. I have a weird feeling that it won’t be the last we see of that charm. Things became more serious later on when the Kuhouin family found the exact location of where Murasaki lives, it was so sad when Kurenai came up to her and hugged her saying they had to find a new place to live. In general, was I the only one really hoping Kurenai would just beat those two guys who were talking to him up? I want to see Kurenai in action with his awesome elbow knife. I couldn’t think of one specific reason to why I liked this episode because by now I think everyone has a good idea to why this series is so special. The series has a mixture of all the good things out there, which is a rare thing to see. The only negative thing was that at times the animation didn’t seem that good, but it wasn’t too noticeable. It seems the series is really taking a turn towards the more serious side, but I’m not going to completely stand by that because if I was wrong the first time, chances are I got it wrong again. I’ll just have to wait and see.

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

