Posted by: lostty | May 25, 2008

The funny thing about Code Geass

And no, it’s not this picture

Let’s keep in mind that I am very easily amused. The thing that always find entertaining to hear in this series are the characters last names. Well, in specific the ones from the Brittanian empire.😉 Whoever thought up the names for the characters definitely didn’t know much French because for the most part they are just common french words put together to make one fancy Brittanian last name. Why are they favoring the French anyway?

Lelouch Lamperouge: True, he did have to change his name, but that just adds more to the ridiculousness of it because out of any name in the whole world it had to be Lamperouge. So, for those who know French, Lamperouge translates out to Redlamp, which would make it Lelouch Redlamp. Doesn’t really sound so fierce anymore. It also doesn’t help that they are always saying his name all the time in the series. So, basically he got stuck with common household item as a last name.

Shirley Fenette: edit: Shirley is another unfortunate soul who got named after a random french word. This time, her last name Fenette is very similar to the French word fenĂȘtre, which translates literally out to Window, so she ends up being Shirley Window. When I first heard her complete name that was definitely the first thing I noticed. Maybe in her family history she has a long run of window makers, who knows?

Rivalz Cardemonde: One of the many useless characters in this series considering all he really does is drive Lelouch around to chess matches, it took me a long time to even remember what his name was, yet alone his last one. Carde is something that is used for wool and is spelt the same in English, it’s like a brush…I really don’t know how to explain it more because I barely know what it is myself. Monde is easy because it translate to World, so his name would be Rivalz Cardeworld.


Responses

  1. ….You used the wrong “too.”

  2. Thanks, I’ll change it up, I haven’t slept in a while and it’s starting to show…. Sorry

  3. I hate shirley!!! shirley window sounds better then shirley fenette! lol

  4. Haha, I never noticed! French sounds fun, but I’m too lazy to study.

  5. Redlamp has a bit of a ring to it, you know… ;p

  6. I’d❀ Lulu either way, though. XP

  7. Gosh, what would you expect from an anime made by Elevens? LOL just kidding. All hail Nunnally and Lelouch, the glorious Redlamp siblings !!1!!

  8. Shirley Window. LOL That’s great. I love it. They should do shit like that more often because it’s funny for those that care.

  9. I don’t know any French, so I wouldn’t have figured it out not until now. Either way, Lulu is a better name. Sounds too cute for him to be Zero

  10. Ha Ha Shirley Window’s a good one..
    Still you’re not that good with french since the word for “window” is fenĂȘtre (yeah there’s only one different letter), Fenette isn’t a french word at all… If you want to pick up name, Lelouch Lamperouge sounds extremely corny in french as “le louche” stands for “the suspicious one” (still no one would use it that way in french lol) as for Lamperouge you got it right (yeah that means it can be word as Thesuspiciousone Redlamp LOL)… Still, Shirley is freaking annoying and Rivalz is fraking useless…

  11. I didn’t expect anyone to notice my fennete mistake🙂
    After I posted it all,I realized right away, but I figured nobody would notice😀 I admit, I am no French wiz, thanks for pointing it out, but it is close so I probably would count it anyway as being close to fenĂȘtre that it might as well be fenĂȘtre (ya, I know that probably doesn’t make any sense). Especially since Shirley Window sounds so awesome!

  12. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Ultraliberal!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

