Posted by: lostty | March 29, 2008

CLANNAD episode 23 (Special) + Final Impressions

My cinnamon bun!

This episode actually continued from the last one, which really surprised me, but the only new thing is just that everyone now knows that Nagisa and Tomoya are officially going out. There wasn’t much of a story, but if I had to sum it up, it was just about Youhei’s sister making another visit and she ends up trying to be part of everything that she obviously doesn’t understand. I’m glad that they decided to put an episode like this because it really was hilarious! They definitely saved the best jokes for last because some scenes in this episode were so funny I almost fell off my chair. It also had a pretty good ending that I might have liked even more than last weeks, even if I wasn’t a very big fan of that, this ending was more cute than romantic. There was no Fuko though… It was also weird for me to see Mei, Youhei, and Tomoya all in the same room because Youhei’s hair colour is nothing like his sister’s who in fact looks exactly like Tomoya’s, which really made my mind wander, but I’m not going to go in details. Something else I noticed was that I think Tomoya really likes Youhei’s cat because once again he was playing with it. I don’t blame him though; it’s a really cute cat!

The two best moments in the episode was firstly when Tomoya’s mind wanders off to how he thinks that Mei may be in love with her own brother and then he imagines himself in her place and it involved something with matching boxers, it was hilarious! The other one is when Nagisa convinces Tomoya to buy her a cinnamon bun and then she says “now I feel like I have to give you a piece” and he replies with “then go ahead, I don’t mind”, though she then says “But I won’t”, which I thought was really funny, but it only got funnier from there because then she suggests an alternative to how he could try it and we had a whole bunch of lip close-ups. Naïve as I am I actually expected there to really be a kiss, I would have been ecstatic if there was, but she instead ended up just breathing on his face. Overall, I really liked this episode, I think one of the reasons why I did so much was because I didn’t expect much, it’s always a good lesson to have low expectations for everything. After the credits we got one of their previews, which turned out being for Clannad season two! It’s called after-story and it is at the moment in production, I definitely can’t wait!

Final Impressions

I actually started this series 4 weeks late only because I wasn’t too sure if I really wanted to watch it, I now fully understand how crazy and stupid I was. When it comes to romance stories in Anime, there are millions of different interpretations and many of them aren’t really that interesting, but every once in a while you get a story like Clannad. In fact a lot of new animes in this season were really good examples of good romances. This is definitely one of my favourite series of all time. I don’t think there was a single episode that I didn’t enjoy in some way, the characters were all perfect and I love the character development that has been shown since the first episode. It’s interesting how there was some episode that could make you laugh so much and others that would make you cry, they incorporated both so well. I’m kind of disappointed that I won’t be able to watch the Dango ending theme because that song really was the first indication that made me know that this was going to be an amazing series, I will definitely watch the new season whenever it comes out no doubt about it!


Responses

  1. […] lostty wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

  2. Greatest anime ever

  3. Hmmm… I haven’t actually watched Clannad yet… it seems to remind me of Card Captor Sakura for some reason. If you like anime love stories, I think Nodame Cantabile was a pretty good one. My wife was HOOKED on that. Looks like I may have to get a hold of Clannad as well.🙂

  4. @Radiant: I think I’ve heard of Nodame Cantabile before or at least the manga. I’ll be sure to check it out sometime, thanks for the suggestion. As for Clannad, I’m sure you’ll love it.😀

  5. Nodame Cantabile is really something special, I’ll definitely buy it when/if it comes out in a box set.

    This episode of Clannad was pretty darn cute. Still wondering about Fuuko though….

  6. It’s nice to know someone else cares for Fukos’s well-being .🙂

  7. i think youhei’s hair really is blue and he dyed it blonde…(spoiler)

    in the game during the path of a certain girl its at the end of their senior year and sunohara said he had to go move back to his hometown since he didn’t make it into a college and his parents wanted him to have a job near home and it shows him with blue hair so that may indicade he orginally had blue hair…(/spoiler)


Leave a Reply

Categories

