Posted by: lostty | November 27, 2007

Lucky Star

Lucky Star! This was such a happy show! The funny thing about it though is that you can really only fully appreciate it, if you’re a “hardcore” anime fan, who’s seen so many of the animes out there. This is because so many of the jokes in this show consist of making either Japanese culture references or mentions something from some of the really popular animes out there.
From The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
To Fullmetal Alchemist

In total Lucky Star contains 24 episodes. It really is a series that anyone can love. The show is basically about a bunch of friends dealing with the high school life and everything in between. Each character has a distinct personality: one being an obsessive anime and video game fan, another being the serious type who always likes to get the work done, someone else who seems to have it all, and another character that is just very neutral. In addition to the main story there is a short segment after every episode calle dthe Lucky Channel. It consists of two characters known as Akira and Minoru. At first I didn’t really like it because I found it to be a bit repetitive, in the sense that it always seemed that at some point Akira will go all split personality on us, but soon enough I realized that part of the show also had a plot of its own and I found myself enjoying it as much as the first half of the show!

To be honest I cannot really seem to find a specific reason why I love this show so much. It is just one random thing after another, which in some odd way is very entertaining. Lucky star is a smart comedy that is well thought up, which is very different from some of the other things I see. The show comprises of mostly dialogue, which was fine with me. At the same time as being extremely entertainingly cute, it is also very funny. It is humorous because the characters always express out loud the embarrassing things that we have all wondered at some point. It is also funny just to watch a bunch of people who have such different personalities have a conversation. Also something about this show really lets you relate to it one way or another.
When talking about lucky Star, I cannot forget to mention something about the opening theme. It is so abnormal and may be one of the most annoying things I ever heard, but at the same time I just have to keep on watching it. It is so compelling! The opening represents the show in an odd way, but at the same time appropriate because they are both extremely…random.

Later on in the series, many new characters were introduced. At first I was not so sure about it because it was so late in the series and we have grown such a liking to the main characters already. Though, soon enough I learned to love them too, even if it was not as much as the originals. They also seemed really in place with the show and I felt as though they were always there since the beginning.

Lucky Star, is a show that made me feel happy after watching every episode. I was always enthusiastic after I finished watching them. It is definitely a shame the series had to end, but I will definitely enjoy all the memories I got from watching the series. This is unquestionably one of my favourite anime shows to date. THREE CHEERS FOR LUCKY STAR!


Responses

  1. nyahahah 😀
    so cute 😀

  2. Lucky Star FTW!!


Leave a comment

Categories