Posted by: lostty | November 21, 2007

The Voices of a Distant Star

I wanted to make this an anime and manga blog, so I thought it was about time for me to write a short review on a manga. I chose The Voices of a Distant Star by Mizu Sahara because it is something new that I tried to read most recently and I ended up really enjoying it, even though I have read better.

Anyway…

The Voices of a Distant Star is a one-book series. It’s set in the future where people are being sent off as research teams out into space to learn more on their discovery of an alien race. Mikako gets chosen as someone who has a chance to go. Reluctant as she was, she still left, leaving the one she loved, Noboru, behind. In space, she can only contact him through text messages. As time passes and the distance lengthens, Noboru considers moving on in his life… The whole thing, if you haven’t realized is a love story. It is meant to be a manga based on an anime by Makoto Shinkai (though I’m not really sure which one, so if anyone does know, I would be very thankful if you told me).

One of the reasons why I liked this manga so much was that the images and the words shared a very important thing with each other; beauty. The mood is usually set with the words, which describe there emotions, but the images also give it a feel from the way it is drawn, which was very delicate and calm. Of course it also helps that the pictures were pretty😛 It was a really sad story that is able to make someone understand the words that are meant to be said even though they’re not used, which makes it very realistic. I also found that the relationship between Mikako and Noboru to be very realistic.

The Voices of a Distant Star will definitely be one of the mangas that I will want to read again, because I really felt something while reading it. The following quote is found on the first page, which actually is the reason that convinced me to read this:

There are so many things that

Conjure up emotions…

The softness of dirt in Spring…

Clouds in the summer sky…

The smell of the Autumn wind…

The sound of raindrops on a silk umbrella…

The chill in the air on the way home

From school…

The scent of the chalkboard eraser…

The sound of a distant truck driving away

In the night…

Or the safe and comforting feel of a

convenience store late at night…

I just wanted to share all those feelings with you…

For the rest of my life


Leave a Reply

Categories

